14 Biggest Lessons I Learned in 2014

Posted: December 29, 2014 in Ang Kwento ni Pinay
Tags: , , , , , ,
2014

Thank you for all the lessons 2014!

I’m the kind of person who loves to make lists. That is why for my last post for 2014, I share to you the 14 biggest lessons I learned this year. I hope you would learn a thing or two.🙂

Okay, here it goes:

  1. Be fully present for the things that make your soul happy.

It may be as simple as drinking coffee, singing your favorite songs, laughing real hard, walking with nature and of course writing.

  1. There’s nothing wrong with being a feminist.

Over the past years, I have been called a “feminist” by people. And I used to be very uncomfortable with this term. I thought it’s about women vs. men. But it’s not. This year I have learned that feminism is not about women hating men. It’s just about equality. That’s it.

  1. Let go of people who are not worthy of your time and effort.

Some people only know you when the condition is right for them. But that isn’t fair. So no matter how you want to keep a person, if s/he is not making the necessary effort to do the same, let go. And by doing so, you can then make room for unselfish people.

  1. Give up some distractions.

I gave up watching too much television this year, most especially television series. I no longer watch most of my favorite TV programs. I believe this was a very significant accomplishment for me because my time was mostly wasted to it. And I know that it’s not healthy.

  1. Being single is an achievement.

I’m single this whole year. Quite an achievement I would say. ‘Cause we’re normally tempted to get into a relationship as we sometimes miss the “feeling” of everything that comes with it even if the person is not right.

  1. Even if you get “good” grades it still hurts like hell when you know you deserve better. But then again, those were just numbers.

Teachers should really be deliberate in evaluating student’s performance. And I wonder, should we really put more importance in quantity over quality? Just thinking…😉

  1. Time will come when you would have to explore your options.

No matter how accustom you are to something or someone, if it’s no longer adding value to your whole being, then start exploring your options. Besides, on a deeper level you already know your value and what you deserve so making decisions like these would be much easier.

  1. Don’t just stay in the realm of dreaming. Do something about your dreams.

After much contemplation about my calling in year 2013, I am now finally doing something about this dream. Yeah I’m on my way.😉

  1. “Busy” is a VERY ugly word.

I hate the word “busy” even more this year. I have actually erased this in my vocabulary since college because saying this just doesn’t feel good. It’s as if you’re the most important person in the universe. And the person you’re talking to have less work or obligation. That is why I can’t help but hate those people who never run out of excuses.

So you won’t hear me say “I’m busy” when someone is asking for my availability. I’m more careful this year with the way I respond to people, so I’d rather say “may tatapusin lang ako, sa (petsa) puwede ako.” I believe that if something or someone is really important to you, you would find a way. No excuses.

  1. Nurture your most important relationships.

Compared to the previous years, I really made an effort to socialize this year. I finally had an active and healthy social life. Yahoo! Haha. I went out with family and friends in greater frequency this year. Because at the end of the day, life makes more sense with meaningful relationships.

  1. Sometimes boys are like a pill. Instead of making me better, they’re making me ill.*

This year, my perspective about boys really widens. One of these is if you think a 30 year old something is already man enough? Think again. And also, not because he used to be very active in church, does it guarantee that he’s harmless.

But I just thought, how can the devil be pulling you towards someone who looks.. so much like an angel when he smiles at you? Maybe he knew that, when he saw me. I guess I just lost my balance. I think that the worst part of it all wasn’t losing him, it was losing me.

-Taylor Swift (I Knew You Were Trouble, monologue part)

  1. “Right time” is often a lie. You can never have the same opportunity twice. So do it now.

Decisions are too important to leave to chance. If you let the opportunity pass you by, you might as well say goodbye. So yeah, do it now.

  1. Never be sorry for being real.

I have done a couple of unpopular choices in life, or unacceptable words or actions, all based on my personal beliefs, values and principles. And this sometimes makes people hate me. No regrets though. Because I would never be sorry for being real. And I would never be sorry for being me.

  1. Control the things you can control. And accept the things you can’t.

Life has two sides: things you can control and things you can’t control. So stop stressing yourself out to things you cannot change and just mind the things you have the power to influence.


*Inspired by P!nk’s song, Just Like A Pill
**I do not own the posted image. All rights belong to its rightful owner.

Comments
  1. Doctor Eamer says:

    Nice nice!🙂 “Being single is an achievement.”… Hmmmm eh di ang dami ko na palang awards.lol!🙂

Leave a Reply

